Simple Laundry Soap | DIY

Being a large family with three children we do a lot of laundry, so when I first started reading about making your own laundry soap and all the benefits I didn’t even hesitate.  It takes only a few minutes and in the end saves you a lot of money and also gives you a product that isn’t filled with harmful chemicals.  In the past I’ve used a recipe for liquid laundry soap but it is a little more time consuming and I could never quite get the consistency right, so I’ve now switched over to a powdered version.

DIYLaundrySoap1

All you need are three ingredients:

–  1 bar of shaved bar soap [I use Fels Naptha]

–  1 cup Borax

–  1 cup Washing Soda

Thoroughly stir together the ingredients for about 5 minutes and that’s it!

*  Use 1 tbsp per load [2 tbsp for large or heavily soiled loads].

Each batch yields approximately 32 loads.

DIYLaundrySoap2

DIYLaundrySoap3

Now let’s talk cost.  I purchase all of my ingredients from my local Wal Mart.

–  55 oz box of Arm & Hammer Washing Soda $3.24

–  76 oz box 20 Mule Team Borax $3.38

–  1 bar Fels Naptha $0.97

I’ve done a little math for you and that’s just $0.05 per load!

 

At the end of the day you can decide what it best for you and your family, but why not give it a try?  Don’t wait, go get the ingredients today!

Leave a Reply

