Manly Birthday Treats | Recipe Share

Last week was my husbands birthday.  I feel so blessed to have him by my side always and it’s been so great celebrating the last seven birthdays together, I’m glad we get to share all of them to come.  I’m one lucky lady!

They say the way to a man’s heart is through his stomach and if that’s the case then our love is HOT because my husband loves spicy foods!  There was no question as what to make him for his birthday, Jalapeno Poppers.  I make these … often.  I’m sure my husband would say not enough though.  Here’s the general recipe I follow for these, though I don’t really measure out any of the ingredients.

Poppers1

Jalapeno Poppers

–  farmers market jalapenos’

–  cream cheese

– shredded cheddar cheese

– green onions

– bacon

First I do a quick mix of the cream cheese, shredded cheddar, and green onions to give them time to soften making it easier to work with. Then cut jalapenos’ in half lengthwise and remove some of the seeds.  Grease bottom of pan.  Then begin to stuff the cream cheese mixture into jalapeno halves and wrap with bacon.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes or until bacon is fully cooked.

[ tip: we use the leftover cream cheese mixture as a spread for crackers. ]

Poppers2

Poppers3

 

I’m not a fan of spicy foods so I can’t review the taste of these, but my husband asks for them at least once a week so I’d say they must be pretty darn good.

Poppers4

 

I’m getting so anxious for spring so we can plant our own jalapenos’ and green onions for this recipe.  Do you have someone in your life who loves spicy foods?  Give these simple appetizers a try and let me know how they turn out!

Leave a Reply

