Growing for Change | 4-H

“I pledge my head to clearer thinking,
My heart to greater loyalty,
My hands to larger service,
and my health to better living,
for my club, my community, my country, and my world.”

Above is the 4-H pledge.  4-H is an organization communities have, to give our children the knowledge, skills, and experience to become responsible citizens and leaders. I was so excited when we moved to find out our county had a 4-H program in place so I wanted to post about this organization so others can find a local group in their area.  The children meet once a month at the NC Cooperative Extension and discuss a variety of topics.  This month they went over cultural diversity and community service.

ROR Ext Tagline Green

The best part of 4-H is that children are able to “Learn by Doing” instead of just sitting in a classroom and listening to someone talk about it.  Children are able to participate in projects where they make something, develop a skill, or raise and/or train an animal.  Hopefully we will be able to use what the children learn during their 4-H meetings to attend a future state farm and show an animal!  I’m sure there will be future posts on this topic.

4H

So if you have children from the ages of 5-18 I urge you to look into this great free program: Find a 4-H

Leave a Reply

