They’re Here! | Learning Chickens

I was like a kid on Christmas, calling the feed store every half hour to see if their delivery had arrived. After two days of waiting, I admit, I was impatient.  I’ve been waiting to get chickens for a couple years now so when we were finally ready for them I just couldn’t wait another minute!  So I contacted a local hatchery that had been recommended to me and I was excited to hear they had a few of the breeds available that I was interested in.  So the day has come, they’re here!

ChickOneWeekBannerWe came home with a Buff Orpington, Cinnamon Queen, Cuckoo Maran, and a Buff Brahma.  Maybe I was a little excited in getting one of each but this being our first chicken experience we also want to find out for ourselves what breeds we love.  It’s an added bonus of course that these four breeds are egg laying power houses.  I can’t wait for an abundance of eggs sitting on our counters.

ChickOneWeek10Currently the girls are comfy in our little homemade brooder.  It’s not fancy by any means but they seem to have made themselves right at home.  I love having them housed where we spend most of our time so we can listen to their cute chirping.  Also I’m hoping if they see us walking around day to day it’ll help them grow into very friendly and loving chickens.

ChickOneWeek3I’m already addicted and awaiting the next couple of breeds that will be available at the hatchery. If you’re in the Fayetteville, NC area I recommend visiting Fayetteville Poultry Chick Dealer & Hatchery for your fuzzy bum little girls.

One thought on “They’re Here! | Learning Chickens

  1. You are in for such fun times! We have had our little flock of 5 (or 6 or 7) for almost a year and I simply can’t get enough of them. The learning curve is steep and sometimes difficult, but I can’t imagine how I ever got on without them. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

