Yogurt for Chickens? | Learning Chickens

I love to spoil my chickens with treats.  It’s important to know though that treats are something that should not be fed in excess.  So for a healthy and happy flock give treats sparingly.  A couple of days ago my flock got to taste Greek Yogurt for the first time and from the looks of it I think they thoroughly enjoyed it.

ChickenYogurt1Doesn’t that look appetizing?  ::gag::  I first set up the plain greek yogurt on it’s own, but my girls are always very hesitant about new treats so I added the meal worms as an incentive to try it.

Clara Bell is definitely the “Mother Hen”,  She is the bravest and always the first to try something.  If the others see her try something they then know it’s safe.  It’s funny to watch the roles each chicken has in their little family.

ChickenYogurt4

My son is the one who I think will grow up to have a flock of his own.  He always wants to help with the girls and loves to give them some cuddles.  Out of all my children he’s definitely been the most interested in the chickens from the beginning.

We are only a few weeks away from having fresh eggs every morning. I like to think if I spoil the girls then they’ll give me eggs sooner. I’ll let you know how that goes for me.

ChickenYogurt8

“What?  Do I have something on my face?”

It was so much fun watching the girls eat their yogurt and it didn’t take long for them to finish it. Remember when feeding your flock yogurt to only feed Plain Greek Yogurt because it contains less milk sugars than regular yogurt. Feed yogurt to your flock in light moderation.

2 thoughts on “Yogurt for Chickens? | Learning Chickens

  1. My chicks are 6 weeks old and they LOVE plain Greek yogurt. However, they refuse to eat it out of a bowl! I have to scoop it with my finger and let them peck it off. I’m thinking at some point they’re going to be too big for this…

    • Spoiled little chicks. My chickens aren’t too fond of eating out of my hands but they have no problem finishing up any treats I lay out for them. Have fun with your little ones!

Leave a Reply

