Garden Update : Summer’s Coming | In The Garden

This coming weekend we’ll celebrate the 1st Day of Summer and also the longest amount of time that hot ol’ sun is out.  I’m pretty sure though that Summer has been here in the Carolina’s for a couple of months now, but I’m not complaining!  I wanted to post a little garden update before we go into the Summer season.

Besides my potato bed which went in March 11th, I started planting most of my vegetables April 1st.  A couple of weeks after that we got a random freeze warning here but luckily I was prepared and everything survived.  We’ve been harvesting small amount of peppers, strawberries, tomatoes, and squash the past couple weeks but I had my first large harvest recently and that was the potato bed.

From my 4 ft x 6 ft raised bed I harvested 10 lbs of potatoes.  This was my first time growing potatoes so it was definitely a learning experience.  Due to the space and time it takes for potatoes to reach their harvest date I think I will grow all of my potatoes in towers next year.  I’ve started a tower of All Blue potatoes recently to experiment with this method.  You simply continue to layer soil and straw as the plants continue to grow until the tower is full.

Garden3After harvesting the potatoes I tilled the soil well to mix up the straw I had laid down and then planted Pumpkin plants.  Hoping the kids will get to watch their very own Halloween pumpkins grow right before their eyes.  If you’re looking to grow your own this year now is the time to start!  Get your seeds or plants in the ground before the first week of July for Halloween harvest.

Garden1In other garden news, the birds have been making a snack out of every Better Boy tomato that starts to ripen.  In hopes to deter them I’ve placed pinwheels in the bed.  Fingers crossed we get to taste a couple of those juicy tomatoes this summer.

And the thing I am most excited about watching grow are my Cantaloupe and Watermelon.  I’ve definitely squeezed them into a tight-fitting spot but I’m hopeful we’ll get to taste a homegrown melon this year.  The vines have taken over and just the other day I noticed tiny melons forming.  Everyday I check on them and I swear they double in size each day, it’s amazing!

So here’s my harvest totals so far since the garden started on April 1st:

  • 8 Jalapeno
  • 5 Banana Peppers
  • Approximately 4 heads of Lettuce
  • 10 Snap Peas
  • 25 Strawberries
  • 20 small Carrots
  • 40 Cherry Tomatoes
  • 4 Zucchini
  • 2 Yellow Squash
  • 1 Bell Pepper
  • 1 Onion
  • 3 Cucumbers
  • 10 lbs of Potatoes

I hope your garden is growing in abundance each and every day as you get to taste the fruit of your hard work and get to know what it really means to Eat Local!

Leave a Reply

