Growing For a Bigger Purpose | What I’m Reading

Have you ever thought of farming or your own backyard garden as something you do to glorify God?

“So whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.” [1 Corinthians 10:31]

While I don’t necessarily use the blog as a platform to voice my own views on religion, it is a big part of why I strive for a more simple and sustainable life.

So back to my question, have you ever thought of farming or your own backyard garden as something you do to glorify God?

I must admit, it wasn’t my first thought when I planned out my garden and started obtaining chickens.  My thoughts revolved around saving money, healthier food for my family, and knowing where my food comes from.  I recently picked up a book by Noah Sanders titled; Born Again Dirt, and it’s really opened my eyes.

BAD-cover_leftsm

In the book, Noah Sanders writes four basic principles of the bibical view on agriculture which are:

  1. We don’t own our farms/land.
  2. Farming is not about us.
  3. God knows more about farming than we do.
  4. We can’t make things grow.

This book is filled with actual verses in the bible that remind us that God is the creator, that God gave us this opportunity to grow an abundance with this land to glorify his name and do good works.  If you’re a Christian it’s not a book telling you things you don’t already know, but it’s an “Aha!” moment that makes you reevaluate the purpose of your farming and gardening.

For more information on this book and to follow Noah Sanders Blog go ahead and visit: The Book | Born Again Dirt

Leave a Reply

