Ripening Peppers | In The Garden

I don’t know about everyone else but at the beginning of the season I was very frustrated.  I’d see a pepper start to change colors and get excited, then the next day there would be a giant hole where bugs had their feast.  The less chemicals you use the more bugs you get, I knew that, but I really wanted to see those gorgeous peppers change to a rainbow of vivid colors.  Then I came across such a simple solution; letting the peppers ripen AFTER harvest.

Blog1

Mature peppers of many varieties start off green, and gradually turn yellow, then red, as they ripen. Green bell peppers cost less than red and yellow because they are unripe and not as sweet. If peppers stay on the plant longer they will naturally turn into sweet yellow and red peppers.  Of course peppers are better when ripened naturally on the plant, but if you’re having problems like myself they will still be delicious when ripened indoors.

Simply place peppers that have not ripened yet into a box or paper bag in a dry room with temperatures between 65 and 70 degrees Fahrenheit.  Peppers should change to their ripe color in about two weeks.  You can use this tip for all varieties of peppers.  Right now I have bell and ghost peppers ripening on my counters.

Blog4

 

2 thoughts on “Ripening Peppers | In The Garden

  1. Hi there! I’ve really loved reading your blog so far – I’m new to gardening and have enjoyed all your veggie ideas. So much so that I am nominating you for the Liebster award! The Liebster award is given to up and coming bloggers who have fewer than 200 followers. I really hope you’ll accept the nomination! The award is a great way to meet other new bloggers, and to get the word out about your blog. You can read more about the Liebster and how it works on my blog today http://flourishandknot.wordpress.com. Keep up the excellent blogging!

Leave a Reply

