Hot Pepper Jelly | Recipe Share

With the warm weather winding down I assumed pepper production would come to a halt.  I was very wrong.  All of my pepper plants are still producing like crazy, trying to get all of their last blooms out before the frost hits.  All summer I’ve been freezing most of my peppers but I’ve run out of room and need to preserve them a different way.  Today is my first attempt at Pepper Jelly.  This jelly is most commonly made with Jalapeno peppers, but I decided to make mine with an heirloom variety called Martin’s Carrot.  This pepper can be used exactly like you would a Jalapeno, it is a very old and rare pepper coming from the Martin family in Pennsylvania.

Jam and jelly have been a preservation method for centuries beginning in the Middle Eastern countries where sugar cane grew naturally.  It’s such a neat throw back to be preserving foods the way people have been doing for so long.  Though I’m sure methods have changed drastically over the years with modern technology, learning to preserve your food is such an important skill to have.

HOTPEPPERJELLY1

The recipe I used for my Hot Pepper Jelly is straight out of the Ball Blue Book Guide to Preserving with the only changes being that I used Martin’s Carrot Peppers instead of Jalapenos and I didn’t feel the need to add any food coloring.

Hot Pepper Jelly

  • 3/4 pound peppers
  • 2 cups cider vinegar
  • 6 cups sugar
  • 2 pouches Ball liquid pectin

Wash peppers; drain.  Remove stems and seeds.  Puree peppers and 1 cup vinegar in a food processor or blender.  Combine puree, 1 cup vinegar and sugar in a large sauce pot.  Bring to a boil; boil 10 minutes, stirring constantly.  Stir in liquid pectin.  Return to a rolling boil.  Boil hard 1 minute, stirring constantly.  Remove from heat.  Ladle hot jelly into hot jars, leaving 1/4 inch head space.  Adjust two-piece caps.  Process 10 minutes in a boiling water canner.

HOTPEPPERJELLY2

This is such a great recipe for the upcoming holidays to gift to friends and family.  It is great on crackers with cream cheese.  Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

